July 7, 2013

Tonight’s sauciness

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , at 12:51 am by chavisory

A lot of times in the summer, the heat makes me too lethargic to eat, or at least to do the work required to eat, much more than cereal with blueberries.  (And I go through blueberries like I’ll never see them again in the summertime.)  But tonight I was feeling a little creative and decided to make up a real meal.

This is actually only a slight variation on a sauce I’ve made before, and the thing I like about it is that it’s hard to overcook.  You probably could…but I haven’t managed yet.

About 1/3 stick of butter
About 1/4 cup heavy cream
About 1/3 cup white wine (I used Chardonnay, because that’s what Whole Foods had for $2.99 a bottle.)
3-4 baby bella mushrooms, sliced
Half of 1 large shallot, sliced
Black pepper
Pinch of cardamom
Dash of salt
A few leaves of fresh basil

Melt the butter slowly over low heat and add the shallots.  Cook till softening and fragrant, and add the mushrooms, and cook they’re soft and fragrant, too.  Add wine, stir it well into the butter, and one or two of the basil leaves, and cook till they’re wilted.

Add the cream, stir well into the winey butteriness, and cook and stir gently until it’s thick and bubbly.  Add a pinch of cardamom, just a dash of salt, and as much black pepper as you want.  (I like black pepper…a lot.)

(This is also where I stirred in about a tablespoon of flour to get it to thicken up a bit.)

I poured it over a pork chop and halved zucchini that I had grilled on our grill pan, and garnished with the remainder of the basil leaves.

And then I sat down to start watching Community…only to find that it is not available on Netflix instant.  Bad planning on my part.  But the saucey pork chop was just as good with Supernatural.  I have leftover wine and cream, and am contemplating something similar but involving walnuts and berries later this week….

Leave a Reply

