December 12, 2012

Baking day

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , at 7:26 pm by chavisory

I last baked bread for myself sometime in elementary or middle school…about 20 years ago, unbelievably.  (The church I grew up in used to be small enough that we always had homemade bread for communion, which I made once, and also once or twice for school projects.)  But somehow I’ve kept finding myself badly craving the feeling of kneading bread dough, or the need to make something incredibly intense with my hands, the past couple weeks.  So with an unexpected whole day off today, I made some bread.

kneading dough

It felt as incredibly good as I’d been missing.  I’d also forgotten how much I love the smell of the yeast in rising dough.

bread

I made some thyme butter to go with it.  The second loaf is going to make incredible French toast next week.

I fear I could get addicted to this.

3 Comments »

  1. marianhd said,

    Congratulations on making bread again! Bread and butter is my weakness. I’d take it over chocolate any day. Even more addicting is a recipe that makes great homemade bread that you don’t even have to knead! I borrowed it from another blog and posted my own version on my blog. What recipe did you use?

    • chavisory said,

      Oh, see, kneading is the part that I like the best. 🙂 I just used the Better Homes & Gardens basic recipe; it was my first time in a while so I didn’t try to get too creative.

  2. dixieredmond said,

    Kneading is its own joy. It makes you slow down. I haven’t gotten the hang of making a decent loaf of bread, so I use a recipe similar to marianhd’s. It is awesome, baked in an enamel lidded pot. I love the smell of yeast, too. Mmmmm. King Arthur Flour has an awesome recipes site, with reviews, etc.


Leave a Reply

