November 19, 2012

About that apple cranberry sauce from last night…

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , at 5:15 pm by chavisory

I’m blushing a bit that this was the hit that apparently it was at last night’s Harvest Celebration potluck.  A few people asked me for the recipe, so here it is! (Not being a closely guarded national secret or anything.)

2 tablespoons butter*
4 smallish apples, sliced
1 bag cranberries (12-16 ounces)
1 cup liquid (I used a mix of water and some pomegranate juice drink I wouldn’t normally have bought, but had leftover from Hurricane Sandy preparations.)**
2/3 cup sugar
Spices (cardamom, cinnamon, Chinese Five Spice, black pepper)

Wash the cranberries and pick out the bad ones.  In a saucepan, melt the butter over low-medium heat.  Add apples and cook till fairly tender, but not falling apart.  Add water and bring to a low boil.  Add sugar slowly and stir till dissolved.  Add cranberries.  When the liquid returns to a low boil, the cranberries will start to pop, and the apple slices are probably starting to fall apart by this time, too.  Continue simmering and stirring until liquid is mostly cooked off and cranberries are all exploded.  Spice as desired.  (I used a dash of cinnamon, about 1/2 teaspoon cardamom, 1/2 teaspoon Chinese Five Spice, and a lot of black pepper.  I don’t know how much, but I like black pepper.)  Let stand and cool for about half an hour.

And even though I ate so much last night that it literally hurt to breathe, I am now going to make another batch of this just for me.

*This recipe is not vegan but could easily be made so.  I think the butter adds a depth of flavor that I like, but you could probably use olive oil, grapeseed oil, or vegan butter substitute with good results.

**I wish I could tell you that it’s worth using wine in place of water for the liquid in this recipe…but it’s pretty much not.  I’ve tried with both red and white.  Most of the liquid boils off in cooking, and the flavor is really lost under the intensity of the cranberries.  Save your wine for making other recipes inappropriately boozy.

Leave a Reply

