July 16, 2011

My unexpected summer vacation…

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , at 11:07 pm by chavisory

…in pictures:

This is my ward for the past two weeks, Patches.  We play a lot of frisbee, which he’ll bring and drop at my feet to notify me when, in his opinion, I’ve been reading for too long.  (I love his mismatched eyes, which are a common trait in his breed.)

Journaling with coffee by the pond in the morning.

Okay, I didn’t do this; I only sort of wish that I had.

Watching the moon set from the front porch.  I can never see the moon anymore without reciting the mnemonic “C for Christos, D for Dios,” from The Lacuna, to tell whether the moon is waxing or waning.  (If the curved side of the moon makes a ‘D,’ it’s being born, like God.  If it makes a ‘C,’ it’s dying, like Christ.)

I had not realized how much I really needed this almost total break from the world until it happened.  On Tuesday I’m back to the city and back to work.

4 Comments »

  1. Sue said,

    Beautiful dog and I love the sign!

    • chavisory said,

      Yes, he’s very pretty–I would get people out for walks stopping by the yard to tell me what a pretty dog I had, and I’d have to admit that he wasn’t really mine. 🙂

  2. Aspergirl Maybe said,

    That’s a fascinating mnemonic for the moon, and I love the stop sign as well. Looks like you have had great companions, between the dog and the journal.

    • chavisory said,

      Yup, and his human (my boss) just asked me to go spend another week with him next week. 🙂 Doggie companionship and being out of NYC in the hottest part of the year? Yes, please.


Leave a Reply

