March 11, 2014

“Exile and Sound,” at NeuroQueer

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , , , , , at 5:48 pm by chavisory

I have a guest post up this week at NeuroQueer:

I’ve been realizing how much I need and miss the influence of natural sound in my life.  It’s like the cadences of those things are the language that my emotional concept of the universe was wired in.  I need it in a way so deep I don’t even know where to begin or how to describe.
It’s strange to think of being starved for sound in New York City, but it can feel that way.  The city is so abundant in every other variety of overstimulation imaginable, but incredibly poor in that one, although there’s plenty of noise.  It’s not the same thing.

spring robin

Visit to read the whole thing!

2 Comments »

  1. Carolyn Cook said,

    As I read your post at NQ, I was listening to the hum of my refrigerator . . . and the crow of a rooster . . . and the cacophony of birdsong in my neighborhood . . . and I had just been contemplating a play I saw last night. I live in Atlanta, and feel fortunate to have the best of both worlds here. You helped me count my blessings today. Thank you.

  2. Wow, that’s a really beautiful post!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 290 other followers

