February 29, 2012

If I only had a heart.

Posted in Reflections tagged , , , , , at 3:07 am by chavisory

The whole time I was watching this:


Moriarty: If you don’t stop prying, I will burn you. I will burn the heart out of you.
Sherlock: I have been reliably informed that I don’t have one.


Moriarty: But we both know that’s not quite true.

…I was thinking of this:


The Tin Woodman knew very well he had no heart, and therefore he took great care never to be cruel or unkind to anything.  “You people with hearts,” he said, “have something to guide you, and need never do wrong; but I have no heart
, and so I must be very careful….”

***

Now would you like to see something incredibly eerie…?


Wizard of Oz: As for you, my galvanized friend, you want a heart. You don’t know how lucky you are not to have one. Hearts will never be practical until they can be made unbreakable.


Mycroft Holmes: All lives end.  All hearts are broken.  Caring is not an advantage.

***

How often do the people we say have no hearts, in fact have the greatest ones?

Who are the people who tell us that they’re not worth having?

5 Comments »

  1. Beautifully constructed post.

    (PS. The expression on the guy in the first picture really makes me giggle, I don’t know why… I know he has a gun pointed at him at point blank range but still… That expression. Thinking about it, maybe it’s because it’s a similar expression to the one my son makes if i tell him he’s not allowed to play with a toy until he’s tidied his toys or whatever.)

    • chavisory said,

      Yeah, that’s a hilariously accurate characterization of Moriarty, portrayed here with evil genius by Andrew Scott. He’s soooo absurdly confident that Sherlock isn’t going to shoot him.

      • I think I’ll have to start watching… I love it when the actors are expressive like that. We’ve recently been *really* into “White Collar”. I like most of the characters on it, each one is unique and charming.

  2. chavisory said,

    Yeah, Sherlock’s really great–I can’t believe I waited as long as I did before I started watching it–my roommates had watched it all and I was like “but why didn’t you tell me it was THIS GOOD?!” Really some of the best acting I’ve ever seen on television, and I don’t even tend to like British television.

  3. Yeah, me either (don’t like British TV), which is why I kept shooting my husband down when he wanted to watch it… Cool!! I’m looking forward to getting started on it now!! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 269 other followers

